Fix the Debt Awards 2024 Fiscal Heroes

We are pleased to recognize the Fiscal Heroes of the 118th Congress. The following is a statement from Maya MacGuineas, president of the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget and head of Fix the Debt: 

“Our debt is skyrocketing, interest costs are surging, major trust funds are approaching insolvency, and the national debt is threatening our national security—there has never been a more important moment for policymakers to step up and lead on fiscal issues. We are pleased that a number of Members of Congress have found ways to work productively on the issue and demonstrate the leadership fiscal responsibility requires.  

During this Congress, lawmakers made significant improvements to the fiscal situation for the first time in over a decade by passing the Fiscal Responsibility Act. What’s more, we are seeing growing support for developing policy and process solutions that improve our fiscal health. This includes the excellent work and leadership of the Bipartisan Fiscal Forum, widespread efforts to establish a bipartisan fiscal commission, and individual efforts to promote responsible legislation and educate the public.  

Leading on fiscal responsibility isn’t easy, especially when compared to the reckless but politically expedient choice to pass on more debt to the next generation. We applaud the Fiscal Heroes for their hard work and encourage more members of Congress to follow in their footsteps.” 

Fiscal Heroes are awarded each Congress to recognize policymakers working to improve the nation's fiscal situation and fix the budget process. Fiscal Heroes have distinguished themselves by pushing their party leaders to make debt a priority, leading bipartisan efforts to work through policy options to fix the debt and the budget process, taking responsible votes, participating in fiscally focused events, using their town hall meetings to engage and educate constituents, delivering floor speeches to raise awareness about the issue, advocating to keep tough choices on the table, and introducing legislation to improve the budget process and the nation's fiscal position.

The list of honorees is as follows:

Sen. Mike Braun (R-IN)
Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE)
Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
Sen. Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
Sen. Maggie Hassan (D-NH)
Sen. John Hickenlooper (D-CO)
Sen. Angus King (I-ME)
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Sen. James Lankford (R-OK)
Sen. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY)
Sen. Mitt Romney (R-UT)
Sen. Mike Rounds (R-SD)
Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Sen. Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ)
Sen. John Thune (R-SD)
Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA)
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Sen. Todd Young (R-IN)
Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX)
Rep. Andy Barr (R-KY)
Rep. Ami Bera (D-CA)
Rep. Jack Bergman (R-MI)
Rep. Ed Case (D-HI)
Rep. Ben Cline (R-VA)
Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK)
Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-TX)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
Rep. Chuck Edwards (R-NC)
Rep. Tom Emmer (R-MN)
Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS)
Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
Rep. Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA)
Rep. Jared Golden (D-ME)
Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA)
Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
Rep. Kevin Hern (R-OK)
Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA)
Rep. Bill Huizenga (R-MI)
Rep. Dusty Johnson (R-SD)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC)
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)
Rep. Blake Moore (R-UT)
Rep. Jimmy Panetta (D-CA)
Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA)
Rep. Dean Phillips (D-MN)
Rep. Brad Schneider (D-IL)
Rep. Hillary Scholten (D-MI)
Rep. David Schweikert (R-AZ)
Rep. Adrian Smith (R-NE)
Rep. Lloyd Smucker (R-PA)
Rep. Victoria Spartz (R-IN)
Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA)
Rep. William Timmons (R-SC)
Rep. Steve Womack (R-AR)
Former Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI)
Former Speaker of the House Kevin McCarthy (R-CA)


For more information, please contact Matt Klucher, Assistant Director for Media Relations, at