Fix the Debt Awards 2022 Fiscal Heroes

Today Fix the Debt, a project of the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget, is pleased to announce and honor a new class of Fiscal Heroes for 2022. Representing a bipartisan group of 19 Senators and 31 House Members, recipients are Members of Congress who have distinguished themselves by showing leadership on issues of fiscal responsibility. The following is a statement from Maya MacGuineas, president of the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget and head of Fix the Debt:

“With inflation at a 40-year high, the national debt reaching near-record levels, and our major trust funds facing looming insolvency over the next decade, our country faces daunting fiscal challenges. Addressing our fiscal challenges requires policymakers in Washington who distinguish themselves by their leadership and political courage, and our Fiscal Heroes are doing just that. We applaud our Fiscal Heroes for their commitment to getting our nation on a more sustainable fiscal path.”

Fiscal Heroes are awarded each Congress to recognize policymakers working to improve the nation's fiscal situation and fix the budget process. Fiscal Heroes have distinguished themselves by pushing their party leaders to make debt a priority, leading bipartisan efforts to work through policy options to fix the debt and the budget process, taking responsible votes, participating in fiscally focused events, using their town hall meetings to engage and educate constituents, delivering floor speeches to raise awareness about the issue, advocating to keep tough choices on the table, and introducing legislation to improve the budget process and the nation's fiscal position.

The list of honorees is as follows:

Sen. Mike Braun, R-IN

Sen. Thomas Carper, D-DE

Sen. Bill Cassidy, R-LA

Sen. John Cornyn, R-TX

Sen. Kevin Cramer, R-ND

Sen. Joni Ernst, R-IA

Sen. Maggie Hassan, D-NH

Sen. Angus King, I-ME

Sen. James Lankford, R-OK

Sen. Mike Lee, R-UT

Sen. Cynthia Marie Lummis, R-WY

Sen. Joe Manchin, D-WV

Sen. Rand Paul, R-KY

Sen. Mitt Romney, R-UT

Sen. Mike Rounds, R-SD

Sen. Rick Scott, R-FL

Sen. Mark Warner, D-VA

Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, D-RI

Sen. Todd Young, R-IN

Rep. Jodey Arrington, R-TX

Rep. Jim Banks, R-IN

Rep. Andy Biggs, R-AZ

Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux, D-GA

Rep. Ted Budd, R-NC

Rep. Tim Burchett, R-TN

Rep. Ed Case, D-HI

Rep. Ben Cline, R-VA

Rep. Michael Cloud, R-TX

Rep. Jim Cooper, D-TN

Rep. Ron Estes, R-KS

Rep. Randy Feenstra, R-IA

Rep. Virginia Foxx, R-NC

Rep. Mike Gallagher, R-WI

Rep. Jared Golden, D-ME

Rep. Bob Good, R-VA

Rep. Kevin Hern, R-OK

Rep. Bill Huizenga, R-MI

Rep. Bill Johnson, R-OH

Rep. Ron Kind, D-WI

Rep. Tom McClintock, R-CA

Rep. Blake Moore, R-UT

Rep. Stephanie Murphy, D-FL

Rep. Ralph Norman, R-SC

Rep. Scott Peters, D-CA

Rep. Dean Phillips, D-MN

Rep. Kurt Schrader, D-OR

Rep. Jason Smith, R-MO

Rep. Lloyd Smucker, R-PA

Rep. Chris Stewart, R-UT

Rep. Steve Womack, R-AR


For more information, please contact Kim McIntyre, Director of Media Relations, at