36 Senators Call for Super Committee to "Go Big"

Update: The Gang of 36 has grown to 45 --23 Republicans, 21 Democrats, and 1 Independent. See below for the full list of participating Senators.

Today, a bipartisan group of 36 bipartisan Senators--18 Republicans, 17 Democrats, and 1 Independent -- called for the Super Committee to enact a large comprehensive deficit reduction plan. The members sent a letter to the Committee which, in many ways, echoes the letter that of over 60 business leaders, former government officials, and budget experts released earlier this week.

The letter calls for deficit reduction plan that not only puts the debt on a sustainable path, but also helps foster economic growth.

The main principles presented in the letter are:

  • Include enough deficit reduction to stabilize the debt as a share of the economy, and put the debt on a downward path, and provide fiscal certainty. We believe a reasonable target is at least $4 trillion, including previously enacted deficit measures. This will send the right message to the financial markets.
  • Use the established, bipartisan debt and deficit reduction frameworks as a starting point for discussions.
  • Focus on the major parts of the budget and include long-term entitlement reforms and pro-growth tax reform.
  • Be structured to grow the economy in the short, medium and long-term
  • Work to include the American public and the business community in a broader discussion about the breadth of the issues, challenges and opportunities facing us.

Momentum is growing for the Super Committee to enact a $3 or $4 trillion plan that tackles entitlement spending and includes tax reform. This letter demonstrates that the Committee has bipartisan Congressional support for going big. We commend this important bipartisan effort.

The signatories to the letter include:

Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Sen. Mark Begich (D-AK), Sen. Michael Bennet (D-CO), Sen. Scott Brown (R-MA), Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC), Sen. Ben Cardin (D-MD), Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE), Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Sen. Dan Coats (R-IN), Sen. Tom Coburn (R-OK), Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS), Sen. Kent Conrad (D-ND), Sen. Chris Coons (D-DE), Sen. Bob Corker (R-TN), Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX), Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID), Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL), Sen. Mike Enzi (R-WY), Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Sen. Kay Hagan (D-NC), Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND), Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Sen. Mike Johanns (R-NE), Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI), Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Sen. Herb Kohl (D-WI), Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Sen. Joe Lieberman (I-CT), Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV), Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS), Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL), Sen. Mark Pryor (D-AR), Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS), Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Sen. Jon Tester (D-MT), Sen. Mark Udall (D-CO), Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA), Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS), and Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR).