Time to Get Started: Final Three Appointees to the Fiscal Commission and Executive Director Named

Today Speaker Nancy Pelosi appointed the final three members to National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform: Rep. John Spratt (D-S.C.), House Budget Committee chairman; Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA), who serves on the House Ways and Means and Budget committees; and Rep. Jan Schakowsky, (D-IL), who serves on the Energy and Commerce committee.

And in an additional note, the Commission now has an executive director: Bruce Reed.  Reed, currently the CEO of the Democratic Leadership Council, served in the Clinton White House as an advisor and as the head of the White House Domestic Policy Council.
The Commission includes: 
  • Erskine Bowles (Democratic Co-Chair)
  • Alan Simpson (Republican Co-Chair)
  • Alice Rivlin (Presidential Appointee - Democrat)
  • David Cote (Presidential Appointee - Republican)
  • Andy Stern (Presidential Appointee - Democrat)
  • Ann Fudge (Presidential Appointee - Democrat)
  • Kent Conrad (Senate Democrat)
  • Max Baucus (Senate Democrat)
  • Dick Durbin (Senate Democrat)
  • Judd Gregg (Senate Republican)
  • Mike Crapo (Senate Republican)
  • Tom Coburn (Senate Republican)
  • Paul Ryan (House Republican)
  • Dave Camp (House Republican)
  • Jeb Hensarling (House Republican)
  • John Spratt (House Democrat)
  • Xavier Becerra (House Democrat)
  • Jan Schakowsky (House Democrat)
See our previous commentary on the Commission: