The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader United States Senate

The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader United States Senate

Dear Senator McConnell and Senator Schumer,

The House of Representatives recently voted to repeal the "Cadillac tax," an excise tax on high-cost employer-sponsored health coverage (above a tax-free amount). For the reasons set forth below, we urge the Senate not to repeal this tax.

For decades, economists and health policy experts of all political persuasions have agreed that the unlimited exclusion of employer-financed health insurance from income and payroll taxes is inflationary, inefficient, and regressive. The Affordable Care Act established the Cadillac tax to address these issues.

The Cadillac tax will help curtail the growth of private health insurance premiums by encouraging employers to limit the costs of plans to the tax-free amount. The excise tax will discourage the provision of insurance that covers such a large proportion of health care spending that consumers have little incentive to insist on cost-effective care and providers have little incentive to provide it. As employers redesign health insurance plans to hold costs within the tax-free amount, cash wages or other fringe benefits will increase. Furthermore, repealing the Cadillac tax would add directly to the federal budget deficit, an estimated \$197 billion over the next decade according to the Joint Committee on Taxation.

We, the undersigned health economists and policy analysts, hold widely varying views on other provisions of the Affordable Care Act, and we recognize that measures other than the Cadillac tax could have been used to restrict the open-ended health insurance tax break.

But we unite in urging Congress to take no action to weaken, delay, or reduce the Cadillac tax until and unless it enacts an alternative tax change that would more effectively curtail cost growth.

Sincerely,

Henry Aaron Brookings Institution Loren Adler Brookings Institution David Yves Albouy University of Illinois

Joseph Antos American Enterprise Institute

Aviva Aron-Dine Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Alan Auerbach University of California
Martin Baily Brookings Institution
Laurence Baker Stanford University

Ernst Berndt Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Robert Bixby Concord Coalition Barry Bosworth Brookings Institution

Alex Brill American Enterprise Institute

Gary Burtless Brookings Institution
Stuart Butler Brookings Institution
Kate Bundorf Stanford University

James C. Capretta American Enterprise Institute

Amitabh Chandra Harvard University
Michael Chernew Harvard University
Barry Clendenin George Mason University
David Cutler Harvard University

Patricia Danzon University of Pennsylvania

Angus Deaton Princeton University

Peter Diamond Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Avi Dor George Washington University

Mark Duggan Stanford University Douglas Elmendorf Harvard University

Ezekiel Emanuel University of Pennsylvania

Yevgeniy Feyman Boston University
Matthew Fiedler Brookings Institution

Robert Fellner Nevada Policy Research Institute

Austin Frakt Boston University
Jason Furman Harvard University
William Gale Brookings Institution

Martin Gaynor Carnegie Mellon University
Paul Ginsburg University of Southern California

Sherry Glied New York University

Marc Goldwein Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

Joshua Gotbaum Brookings Institution
Gordon Gray American Action Forum

Jonathan Gruber Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Holly Harvey Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

Ron Haskins
Tara O'Neill Hayes
American Action Forum
Christopher Holt
American Action Forum
Doug Holtz-Eakin
Jill Horwitz
University of California
Robert Huckman
Harvard University
Paul Hughes-Cromwick
Altarum Institute

Robert P. Inman University of Pennsylvania Benedic Ippolito American Enterprise Institute

Damon Jones University of Chicago Helen Levy University of Michigan

Frank Levy Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Steven Lieberman Brookings Institution

Robert Litan

Erzo Luttmer Dartmouth College

Maya MacGuineas Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

Eric Maskin Harvard University

Aparna Mathur American Enterprise Institute

Thomas McGuire

Ellen Meara

Dartmouth College

David Meltzer

Bruce Meyer

John McDonough

Harvard University

University of Chicago

Harvard University

Cecilia Munoz

Len Nichols George Mason University
Maurice Obstfeld University of California
Michael O'Hanlon Brookings Institution
Harold Pollack University of Chicago
Daniel Polsky John Hopkins University

Robert Pozen Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Robert Reischauer Urban Institute

Ben Ritz Progressive Policy Institute
Christina Romer University of California

Avik Roy Foundation for Research on Equal Opportunity

Christopher Ruhm
Andrew Samwick
Isabel Sawhill
University of Virginia
Dartmouth University
Brookings Institution

Douglas Shackelford University of North Carolina Sita Slavov George Mason University

Neeraj Sood University of Southern California

Eugene Steuerle Urban Institute

Betsey Stevenson University of Michigan
Michael Strain American Enterprise Institute

Katherine Swartz Harvard University
John Taylor Stanford University
Richard Thaler University of Chicago

Grace-Marie Turner Galen Institute

Ani Turner Altarum

Laura Tyson University of California
Stan Veuger American Enterprise Institute
Alan Viard American Enterprise Institute

Paul Van de Water Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Gail Wilensky Project HOPE

Roberton Williams University of Maryland

Kyle Wingfield Georgia Public Policy Foundation

Justin Wolfers University of Michigan Richard Zeckhauser Harvard University

^{*}Organization affiliations are listed for identification purposes only.